Fun Competition debuts on April 16-18, 1993 with over 1,000 skaters and 54 events.


Dianne Izzard is appointed COS Executive Director.


COS creates a staff-operated Judges Bureau.


COS introduces the “Celebrating our Section” newsletter replacing COSSIP.


Congratulations to the Acton, Ajax, Keswick, Paisley and Teeswater Figure Skating Clubs who all celebrated 25th anniversaries.


Nationally …

             1st, Elvis Stojko (Senior Men)

             1st, Matthew Smith (Junior Men)

             1st, Amanda Cotroneo/Mark Bradshaw (Novice Dance)

             1st, The Classic Edition (Adult)

             2nd, black ice senior

             2nd, Brampton Ice Angels, junior

             2nd, Giuliano Cosentino (Novice Men)

             2nd, Tamara Styka (Novice Ladies)

             3rd, Karen Preston (Senior Ladies)

             3rd, Ice Expression (Adult)_


Internationally …

             1st, Elvis Stojko, World Championships

             1st, Elvis Stojko, Piruetten

             2nd, Elvis Stojko, Olympic Winter Games

             3rd, Karen Preston, Skate Canada International


CFSA/Wittnauer Section Accountants Award—Jack Quigley

CFSA/Winttnauer Section Judges Award—Donald Abbot

CFSA/Wittnauer Section Volunteer Award—Lynda Thomlinson

Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award—Debbie Harris

CFSA/Wittnauer Volunteer of Excellence Award—Kathy Adams

CFSA/Wittnauer CanSkate/CanFigure Award—Erin Smith

CFSA/Wittnauer Skater of the Year—Melissa Heerschap

CFSA/Wittnauer Club Volunteer Award—Fred/Adelaide Piterse

CFSA/Wittnauer Coach of the Year—Louis Stong

COS Club Coach Award—Mary Hardie

COS Volunteer Coach Award—Karen Bridge-Moore

COS Competitive Coach Award—Louis Stong

COS Honorary Coach Award—Wally Distelmeyer

SunLife Award of Merit—Maureen Marriner/Steven Brooks

In the World …


Uranus passes Neptune for the first time in 171 years.


Boris Yeltsen elected leader of Russia.


The world wide web is born at CERN.


Paul Cezanne still life painting sells for $28.6m USD.


The last episode of Cheers airs on NBC.


Ground is broken on Cleveland’s Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame.


David Letterman leaves NBC for CBS.






Louis Stong

COS Competitive Coach of the Year




















Wally Distelmeyer

COS Honorary Coach of the Year

COS History
1993 - 1994